Viewing Room Main Site
Skip to content
Alfredo Jaar

The Sound of Silence, 2006.

Galerie Lelong & Co., New York, congratulates Alfredo Jaar, winner of the 40th edition of the Hasselblad Foundation International Award in Photography. The award ceremony will take place in Gothenburg, Sweden, on October 19, 2020. The following day, October 20, an exhibition of Alfredo Jaar’s work will open at the Hasselblad Center. A book about the artist will be published by Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König, with an essay by Jacques Rancière. 

"Alfredo Jaar explores complex socio-political issues, bringing to the fore the ethics of representation. Through quiet and meditative works, Jaar confronts issues of great magnitude, bearing witness to humanitarian disasters and attesting to the impact of military conflict, political corruption and economic inequality throughout the world. His photographs, films, elaborate installations and community-based projects provocatively disturb common perceptions of reality. At the heart of his practice is what Jaar refers to as the politics of images, questioning the way we use and consume images, while pointing to the limitations of photography and the media to represent significant events," reads the Foundation’s citation regarding the Hasselblad Award Laureate 2020, Alfredo Jaar.
The Hasselblad Award Jury which submitted its proposal to the Hasselblad Foundation’s Board of Directors, consisted of: Joshua Chuang, Senior Curator of Photography, New York Public Library (USA); Thyago Nogueira, Jury Chair, Head of the Contemporary Photography Department, Instituto Moreira Salles (Brazil); Anna-Kaisa Rastenberger, Professor of Exhibition Studies and Spatiality, Academy of Fine Arts, Uniarts (Finland); Laura Serani, Independent Curator (Italy/France); Yiannis Toumazis, Director NiMAC and Assistant Professor, Frederick University (Cyprus). 

Past recipients of the award include Daido Moriyama (2019), Bernd & Hilla Becher (2004), Robert Frank (1996), Susan Meiselas (1994), William Klein (1990) and Henri Cartier-Bresson (1982). 

Back To Top